Date Posted
8th Feb 2017


All karate-ka start with white belt 8th kyu.  

"Kyu" means grade or level below the black belt.  

"Dan" means black belt grades (degrees).

8th kyu means the student is eight grades away from black belt, and work their way towards 1st kyu which is one grade away from black belt.  

Whanake Rangataua karate award a tab on some belt colors which is the equivalent to a kyu or dan.  

"Shodan Taegu" provisional black belt means "black belt beginner" and signifies a beginning, not an end.  This is usually held for a minimum of one year with continued training, focus and commitment, before being awarded black belt 1st dan (Shodan).
‚ÄčThere is no maximum waiting period for black belt grades.


"It will take your entire life to learn karate, there is no limit" - Gichin Funakoshi